Gluten is a type of protein called gliadin and glutelin, which is mainly found in the endosperm of various cereal grains such as wheat (durum, semolina, spelt and Khorasan wheat) rye, barley and triticale. Gluten accounts for almost 75% of the protein found in bread. The main function of gluten includes holding the shape of the food, acts as a glue, provides elasticity and moisture to the food and also, make the bread to rise and renders a chewy texture. Also Read: Going Gluten-Free Effortlessly
People who are sensitive to gluten, feel good when they avoid foods containing gluten. Individuals with irritable bowel syndrome, wheat allergy and celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten even at minimal amounts.
Gluten intolerance is the body’s inability to digest or break down gluten protein and it is also known as gluten insensitivity. Gluten intolerance may range from mild to severe celiac disease.
Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder triggered by eating foods containing gluten which results in damaging the lining of the gut and hindering the absorption of essential nutrients. In severe cases, gluten intolerance may ultimately lead to nutritional deficiency, osteoporosis, nerve damage and other health problems.
Most of the foods contain gluten or made with gluten include bread, pasta, crackers, seasonings and spices. It is vital for people with gluten intolerance to stay away from foods that contain gluten and also check the food label carefully. Here we bring you list of gluten-free foods. Also Read: 8 Common Signs Associated With Gluten Intolerance, You Should Never Ignore
Are You Troubled With Digestive Problems? Choose From Our Wide-Range Of Gluten-Free Foods That Promote Digestion!
Gluten-Free Whole Grains
There are a few grains that are naturally free of gluten which you can relish in different ways. It is also important to check that gluten-free grains are not cross-contaminated with gluten while processing in the same facility. Some of the whole grains free in gluten include
- Brown Rice
Fruits And Vegetables
Fresh fruits and vegetables are generally gluten-free, however, some processed fruits and vegetables contain gluten, where it is added as a flavouring or thickening agent. Food starch, malt and maltodextrin are some of the gluten-based substances added to processed fruits and vegetables. Fruits and vegetables which can be included in a gluten-free diet includes
- Citrus Fruits
- Cruciferous Vegetables, Including Cauliflower And Broccoli
- All Green Leafy Vegetables
- Starchy Vegetables, Including Potatoes, Corn, And Squash
- Bell Peppers
Plant-based and animal proteins are absolutely gluten-free. However, avoid meat, which is processed, canned and meat products that contain soy sauce, flour, malt and vinegar where gluten is added as a flavouring or binding agent. Proteins that are gluten-free includes:
- Nuts and seeds
- Soy food -tofu, edamame and tempeh
- Lean meat, seafood and red meat
Dairy products are mostly gluten-free, however, check the label before having flavoured dairy products such as yoghurt, milk, processed cheese and ice-creams which may contain additives, thickeners, modified starch and malt.
Gluten-free milk products include:
- Butter And Ghee
- Cottage Cheese
- Sour Cream
A whole lot of beverages are naturally gluten-free, while some beverages are blended with additives that contain gluten. The list of beverages that are gluten-free includes:
- Pure Fresh Fruit Juice
- Sodas and sport drink
- Stay away from alcoholic beverages made with malt, barley, and other gluten-containing grains.
Gluten-free foods help people with gluten intolerance to get relieved from symptoms of gluten intolerance like bloating, indigestion, abdominal pain and gas. Choose from a wide range of healthy gluten-free foods to manage the condition and correct nutritional deficiency.